2.2e Fanaleds hardware settings not saving

Have you found a bug? Please report it here.
User avatar
f1maniac2008
Beta tester
Posts: 14
Joined: 21 Jul 2014, 19:53

2.2e Fanaleds hardware settings not saving

Postby f1maniac2008 » 29 Jul 2014, 21:44

I use both the fanaleds and the siminstruments software.

I want do permanently disable the output for the siminstruments dash via the fanaleds software - I can successfully do so under the hardware page in fanaleds. (Clicking the checkboxes: disable clock and disable data output)

However my changes are not saved upon restart of the software or when another hardware is connected to the PC.
So whenever I restart the fanaleds software the changes are set to default. Or when I start the CSWB the settings for the SimInstruments Dash are set to default.

I can run both software simultaneously when deactivating the device under the hardware settings in the fanaleds software.

Is there a way to save my changes? Or can I somehow ignore the SimInstruments Dash in the fanaleds software?
Or is this simply a little bug?

Changes for the CSW saves automatically.
Fanaleds software is the latest - 2.2e
Siminstruments is the latest 1.2.21 and the dash is at the latest firmware 1.6

Thanks for this great piece of software and regards
Sebastian

User avatar
f1maniac2008
Beta tester
Posts: 14
Joined: 21 Jul 2014, 19:53

Re: 2.2e Fanaleds hardware settings not saving

Postby f1maniac2008 » 17 Aug 2014, 16:47

Any help guys?

User avatar
DirkT
Fanaleds developer
Posts: 471
Joined: 18 Jul 2012, 23:29

Re: 2.2e Fanaleds hardware settings not saving

Postby DirkT » 20 Aug 2014, 09:01

Sorry :) Holiday times...

I'll try to reproduce this today, and see what I can find.

User avatar
f1maniac2008
Beta tester
Posts: 14
Joined: 21 Jul 2014, 19:53

Re: 2.2e Fanaleds hardware settings not saving

Postby f1maniac2008 » 23 Aug 2014, 17:11

ok - thanks for the heads up :)

BTW: I noticed it as soon as I power up my CSW Base -or any other hardware eg mouse or keyboard

Knorrf1x
Posts: 1
Joined: 27 Aug 2014, 12:41

Re: 2.2e Fanaleds hardware settings not saving

Postby Knorrf1x » 30 Aug 2014, 16:44

Hi guys.

same issue by me
i always have to set my LCD Display new when i restart my PC / my Wheel
things like ,,save settings to active profile´´ doesnt solve the problem.

OS: Win 7 &4 Bit
Fanatec CSW with M3 RIm

Thanks for help

User avatar
DirkT
Fanaleds developer
Posts: 471
Joined: 18 Jul 2012, 23:29

Re: 2.2e Fanaleds hardware settings not saving

Postby DirkT » 03 Sep 2014, 11:25

Hey guys,

Just only now gotten around to give this a look. Could all of you check the following:

In Fanaleds
File->Open settings folder
Look for the file global.xml

You should see several <device lines, each device represents a device supported by Fanaleds. Your simdash should look like this: (look for the type 1732)

Code: Select all

<device disabled="false" clock="false" revledtype="7" brightness="1" type="1732" serial="64MYSERIALFOOBAR" lcdR="204" lcdG="19" lcdB="66">
Now what I'd like to know is, is disabled set to false or true for each and everyone of you? If it is set to false. Please edit the file while Fanaleds is NOT running, change the value to true like so:

Code: Select all

<device disabled="true" clock="false" revledtype="7" brightness="1" type="1732" serial="64MYSERIALFOOBAR" lcdR="204" lcdG="19" lcdB="66">
If it is set to true already, and it's still outputting to your device, please let me know.

User avatar
f1maniac2008
Beta tester
Posts: 14
Joined: 21 Jul 2014, 19:53

Re: 2.2e Fanaleds hardware settings not saving

Postby f1maniac2008 » 03 Sep 2014, 17:34

My line is the following:
<device disabled="true" clock="true" revledtype="0" brightness="150" type="1732" serial="85332313935351416142">

Also tried with false

No change

What I noticed - everytime I needed to disable the Siminstruments Dash, a new line is created in global.xml for the same device (siminstruments dash)
Last edited by f1maniac2008 on 06 Sep 2014, 13:53, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
DirkT
Fanaleds developer
Posts: 471
Joined: 18 Jul 2012, 23:29

Re: 2.2e Fanaleds hardware settings not saving

Postby DirkT » 10 Sep 2014, 10:17

Ah that's not good, it should see the device already in config.

Would you mind trying this:

Without the board connected start fanaleds and go to File->Open Settings folder.
Then open up the global.xml file in a texteditor like notepad (don't open in IE)

Close Fanaleds.

Go to the bottom of the file and look for this:
<settings version="1" />
change that to:
<settings version="1" debug="4" />
Now save the file, start Fanaleds.

And now connect the board.

In the same folder as the global.xml file is there should be a lastlog.txt file, please paste its contents here.

User avatar
f1maniac2008
Beta tester
Posts: 14
Joined: 21 Jul 2014, 19:53

Re: 2.2e Fanaleds hardware settings not saving

Postby f1maniac2008 » 10 Sep 2014, 17:24

0: Log opened with debug level: 4
0: Log opened with debug level: 4
2: Setting up hardware
2: Beginning device enumeration
2: Error reading serial
2: Hardware found on ID: 0 name: ClubSport Wheel vendor: Fanatec ver: 12.22 ser: RAWID-0eb7-038e
0: Failed reading main device data
2: Hardware found on ID: 1 name: Clubsport Pedals vendor: Fanatec ver: 0.0 ser:
0: Failed reading main device data
2: Hardware found on ID: 2 name: Dash 1.4 vendor: Siminstruments Pty Ltd ver: 0.3 ser: 85332313935351416142
2: Hardware found on ID: 3 name: Dash 1.4 vendor: Siminstruments Pty Ltd ver: 0.3 ser: 85332313935351416142
0: Failed reading main device data
2: Finished enumeration devices
2: Showing init routine
2: Hardware ready to go

Strange - it's found twice O.o


*EDIT*: Fanaleds is running a few Minutes and it shows up like this:
0: Log opened with debug level: 4
0: Log opened with debug level: 4
2: Setting up hardware
2: Beginning device enumeration
2: Error reading serial
2: Hardware found on ID: 0 name: ClubSport Wheel vendor: Fanatec ver: 12.22 ser: RAWID-0eb7-038e
0: Failed reading main device data
2: Hardware found on ID: 1 name: Clubsport Pedals vendor: Fanatec ver: 0.0 ser:
0: Failed reading main device data
2: Hardware found on ID: 2 name: Dash 1.4 vendor: Siminstruments Pty Ltd ver: 0.3 ser: 85332313935351416142
2: Hardware found on ID: 3 name: Dash 1.4 vendor: Siminstruments Pty Ltd ver: 0.3 ser: 85332313935351416142
0: Failed reading main device data
2: Finished enumeration devices
2: Showing init routine
2: Hardware ready to go
0: Autoupdater: Running latest available version.
0: Profile for game does not exist, keeping current settings.
0: Use 'Save settings to active profile' to create this profile.
0: Error opening MMF
0: Error opening MMF
0: Error opening MMF
0: Error opening MMF
Last edited by f1maniac2008 on 10 Sep 2014, 17:26, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
DirkT
Fanaleds developer
Posts: 471
Joined: 18 Jul 2012, 23:29

Re: 2.2e Fanaleds hardware settings not saving

Postby DirkT » 24 Sep 2014, 10:12

It's found twice because it is a composite device, so that's by design. They (SimInstruments) decided to split the LEDs from the Input (optional) commands.

Anyway, your global.xml seems corrupted to me, would you mind trying to backup the file somewhere, and then delete it entirely, and then try to disable it again and see if it sticks then?

I noticed another quirk in you log about the ClubSport pedals, but that shouldn't really be a problem concerning this. I have that fixed for next release (later this week). But I want to dig a little deeper for you config not saving issue. So please test it with a newly generated global.xml file.


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron